August 14, 2013

  • I have arrived at a point in my life where I am assuring people that there will be no more of this crying nonsense, partly because it distresses me to know people are crying, and mostly because of my long-held opinion that it is more desirable to feel nothing than to cry (try not to judge me too harshly--opinions like that are hard to shake), and in a sincere effort to cheer them up, we go to a graveyard that I had made a mental note to take her to once when I had to take an alternate route to the theatre...except that today there was work being done at the EXACT part of the road where one would wish to turn into the graveyard, and I not only stave off my natural impulse to ragequit life (metaphorically, understand), but for once I actually had a successful backup plan.

    ...I may have thought about this enough that I actually saved a web site in my phone that locates cemeteries and graveyards near me based on gps information. Maybe.
    So we looked at things and talked about names and interesting headstones, and she said she was doing an art project, so we picked up bits of false flowers that had been shredded by the lawn mowers. And to top that, I found a Dairy Queen on the way back that I swear had not been there on the way out.

    I admit I have always been in danger of becoming the sort of person who does these things, but it is fascinating to see one's life beginning to match up in new ways with what one always suspected one was like.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories