September 27, 2013

  • reading 2013

    That’s kind of a lie. My reading year starts in September, so this is actually the stuff I’ve read since last fall… but there are some good things in here. If a title catches your eye, let me know and I’ll be happy to give a more detailed opinion of it, since I stopped doing reviews of everything I read.

    * Marks the books I was recommended.
    ± Marks books I would like to get rid of (message me if any of them look interesting, since I might still have them and could send them to you)
    #Marks my personal favourites from this batch

    1. Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare#
    (steampunk and magic and a dash of Victorian-era romance)

    2. The Maze Runner – James Dashner*
    (post-apocalyptic mysteries and experiments with kids)

    3. Celtic Myths and Legends – Peter Berresford Ellis#
    (exactly that…very entertaining in places)

    4. Star Trek – Alan Dean Foster
    (yes, I read a book based on a movie. wanted to murder one of the writers for passive grammar usage, but it wasn’t the worst thing ever.)

    5. Lord Brocktree – Brian Jacques
    (wildcat pirates and bloodthirsty badger lords)

    6. Legend of Luke – Brian Jacques#
    (mousketeers, for reals)

    7. Seagull Reader: Poetry – Ed. Joseph Kelly
    (useless anthology from college)

    8. Seagull Reader: Stories – Ed. Joseph Kelly
    (some stories were actually good…ask me if you need a list of short stories to hunt out)

    9. On Writing – Steven King
    (he’s actually pretty entertaining in this)

    10. Desperation – Steven King
    (dumb story, but some parts are so awesome even though I know they lead directly to letdowns…)

    11. Insomnia – Steven King
    (middle portion is pretty interesting, then it gets dumb)

    12. Cell – Steven King#
    (really dated, given how different smart phones are from the phones we had even five or so years ago…but the concepts are pretty horrifying and awesome)

    13. Irish Red – Jim Kjelgaard
    (I still have a sort spot for dog stories)

    14. Outlaw Red – Jim Kjelgaard
    (especially dog-survives-in-the-wild stories)

    15. Werewolves: The Occult Truth – Konstantinos
    (interesting dissection of the belief in werewolves from someone who is part of the occult community)

    16. The Poetic Edda – Ed. Carolyne Larrington
    (Norse mythology)

    17. The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo – Steig Larsson#
    (violent and highly sexual crime and mystery…pretty intense read)

    18. Carmilla – J. Sheridan Le Fanu
    (very old fashioned vampire story…before Dracula’s time)

    19. The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula K. Le Guin#
    (human in an alien society of androgynous people. lots of philosophy and human condition questions raised by plot.)

    20. Mere Christianity – C.S. Lewis
    (Christian philosophy)

    21. The Screwtape Letters – C.S. Lewis
    (demon writing advice letters to lesser demon on how to draw souls to hell)

    22. The Nightmare Factory – Thomas Ligotti#
    (short stories with supernatural and nihilistic themes)

    23. Death Poems – Thomas Ligotti
    (poems about death)

    24. Teatro Grottesco – Thomas Ligotti#
    (more stories with supernatural and nihilistic themes)

    25. Noctuary – Thomas Ligotti
    (ditto above)

    26. The Conspiracy Against The Human Race – Thomas Ligotti
    (exposition of pessimistic philosophies…one of the darkest things I have ever read)

Comments (4)

  • I can see how Cell would be among your favorites. I really enjoyed the creepiness.

    • It was the first book I ever read by Steven King, so maybe that’s part of why I like it better, too…I hadn’t gotten to know his preferred modes and characters yet.

  • Right now, I’m reading his sequel to The Shining, Called Doctor SLeep. I just can’t put it down, lol. Me, I started with Four Past Midnight and then I read Insomnia, and I was hooked.

    • Idk…I really like his writing voice…but every time I read one of his books, I feel like I’ve been tricked. Like, the moments of understanding his characters have right before they rally against the monster or the situation…I hate those moments. I feel like they ruin something that would be otherwise terrifying.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories