October 2, 2013

  • an ideal end

    Today at work I made someone laugh while they were eating, and she started choking on her food. This incident somehow turned into a discussion of how, if we got to choose, we would each like to go.

    Three chose vehicular misadventure.

    One wanted to choose the peaceful death-while-sleeping route, but we persuaded her that this is illogical as she is young and healthy and unlikely to die in her sleep unless there is some underlying cause. She changed her ideal end to a wasting disease like cancer so that everyone would be kind and sympathetic and do things for her until she finally died.

    One started out thinking he would like to be the victim of a homicide, with the weapon being a grass hook.

    28938_resized_800x800

    (Basically, a baby scythe.)
    He changed his mind though, and said he’d like his end to be by way of morbid obesity, with particular blame placed on iced cream.

    One would choose an aneurism.

    One would choose to go by way of a perfect headshot.

    One would choose to be the victim of predation by a bear.

    I really feel like I learned a lot about my coworkers today. Namely, that they actually have given some thought to this idea, and have ways that they genuinely favour (however unlikely) for their own ends.

    And funny thing…despite the unspoken agreement that I would, if we had such a thing, win the award for most morbid topic brought up in the office, nobody asked me how I wanted to go.

Comments (5)

  • So how would you prefer to die?

  • I am torn between wanting it to be sudden so I don’t spend time agonizing over it, and wanting it to not be completely gruesome.

  • I love conversations like that. My friend and I once had a whole discussion on if we had to lose a finger, which finger and how would we want to lose it.
    It really makes you realize a lot about yourself.

    • Indeed. And just a heads up…I’m posting most of my stuff on a separate blog now…waiting to see if this whole Xanga thing evolves in a way that I actually want to use…

      Like today, I learned that I can customize my page’s look. Except that the background is showing up as all-white, despite my attempts to make it black. And with white text…well…it’s a bit of a problem.

  • It shows up black for me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories